JAIPUR: Rajasthan chief minister Ashok Gehlot on Wednesday condemned the Centre’s move to remove Congress leaders from the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML) Society, saying the government will not be able to do away with Nehru’s legacy by taking such steps.
The central government has reconstituted the NMML Society removing Congressmen Mallikarjun Kharge, Jairam Ramesh and Karan Singh as its members and inducting television journalist Rajat Sharma and adman Prasoon Joshi among others.
According to an order issued on Tuesday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the president of the society and defence minister Rajnath Singh its vice president.
“It is condemnable and very unfortunate that the government has dropped all liberal voices and independent scholars from reconstituted NMML Society. All names, which believed in Nehru’s ideology, have been removed,” Gehlot said.
“Govt wont’ be able to do away wd Nehruji’s legacy by such petty steps (sic),” the chief minister tweeted.

Union ministers Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Ramesh Pokhriyal, Prakash Javadekar, V Muraleedharan and Prahlad Singh Patel, ICCR chairman Vinay Sahsrabudhhe, Prasar Bharti chairman A Surya Prakash, secretaries of Expenditure, Culture and Housing and Urban Affairs, are members of the NMML Society.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here